Baby Rag Quilt

It’s been a while since my last post, mainly because I’ve been keeping myself busy with numerous quilting and sewing projects.  As I mentioned in my previous post, my husband and I will be expecting a baby girl sometime in April.  In preparation for her arrival, I decided to make a couple things for her.  I’m not sure where all this energy is coming from, but there’s something about having a baby that gets you motivated to create things.

Shortly after I finished my patchwork quilt, I moved on to a flannel and fleece rag quilt.  I found a great tutorial from one of my favorite YouTube contributors, Missouri Quilt Company.  They have so many great ideas!

I chose flannel fabrics with a mix of pink, green, and brown for my rag quilt and cut them into 5-inch squares.

Then I created sandwich pieces using the pink fleece squares as a backing and sewing two diagonal lines through the piece.

Here’s what it looks like when you sew the sandwich pieces together using a 1/4″ seam allowance:

The next step is to snip the edges, being careful not to snip the seam.

And here’s the finished product!

One of the things I love about this quilt is its softness and the texture created by the raggedy edges.  It’s so unique!  This quilt is pretty small, about 24″x30″.  The next time I make a rag quilt, I think I’ll use larger pieces and use a larger seam allowance.  I’d also like to try using minkie fabrics for an even softer quilt!

This was a quick and fun project, and I was super happy with the end result!  I’ll end my post here with the tutorial from the Missouri Star Quilt Company.  Have fun creating your own rag quilt….enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

