A New Diaper Bag! (With Link to Tutorial)

These past few weeks, I’ve been admiring a number of Vera Bradley tote bags at a store in our local mall.  Each time my husband and I would pass by the storefront, I’d often stop and tell him how much I like the vibrant colors and patterns, and the design of the bags.  They’re beautiful!  But I just couldn’t see myself buying one knowing that I could probably make it myself.  And so began my next challenge…a new diaper bag!

I made a diaper bag a few weeks ago using a tutorial from Moda Bakeshop. It had blues and greens in it, perfect for my son!  This time however, I decided to use fabrics in pink and yellow, and to use a tutorial from Andrea’s Originals.  It’s a more “boxier” style than my first diaper bag, but what I like about it are the pockets and that it’s much bigger.  I modified the size a bit to make a wider bag.  My finished bag measures 16″x12″x5″.

I started with these fabrics from Robert Kaufman’s “Free to Grow” collection by Nancy Mimms.

I already had the yellow fabric in my stash, but needed the others for the front and back pockets and the handles.  These fabrics were from Sew Special, one of our local fabric stores on Maui.  The girls there were great in helping me find what I needed!  What I don’t have pictured here is a hot pink gingham print that I used for my lining.

When I pieced the bag together, I decided to sew all the panels first, rather than sew them on to the bottom of the bag.

After sewing the panels, I pinned the bottom section to the panels and sewed around all four sides, starting with the long sides first and finishing off with the shorter sides.

A couple nights ago, I showed my husband my new diaper bag and asked him what he thought.  He asked where I had bought it from.  I found that to be the most perfect compliment!

The cost of the materials added with the time I spent on this bag probably amounted to the same as the cost of those Vera Bradley bags that I saw at the mall, but it was worth the effort and time.  It was sure worth knowing that it was something that I could make for myself!

3 responses to “A New Diaper Bag! (With Link to Tutorial)

  1. Love it! Thank you for sharing and linking back to me. 🙂

  2. This is exactly the type of bag I have been looking for to make for my sister 🙂 Only problem is I can’t get to the tutorial because it says I have to be invited to the blog 😦 I have no idea how to go about doing that? Any suggestions? Thanks! And I love your fabric choices!! So pretty!

Leave a Reply

